La Amazonia

Over the weekend, I visited Iquitos, which is the largest city in the world inaccessible by road with over 400,000 inhabitants.  But really I only flew into Iquitos and passed through it on my way to a hotel in the Amazon Rainforest.  Before we got to the hotel, however, we visited a manatee reserve where they raise baby manatees until they are old enough to be released into the wild.  I got to feed a baby manatee!

P1000137

 

Also, I caught a piranha!

P1000281

And I climbed a palm tree.

P1000259

 

And I held a sloth!

P1000294

 

I had a ton of fun in the amazon and got to know a lot of cool people who are studying abroad here with me.  I loved hiking through the rainforest and seeing all the native wildlife that I very well may never get to see again (although I hope that I do!)  All in all, it was one of my favorite experiences in my life.

P1000254

2 thoughts on “La Amazonia

  1. Wow Nate! I’m sooooo glad you were able to experience that. How many 21 year olds can say they visited the Amazon? I also saw the photos you posted to FaceBook…great! Swimming with piranhas!?!?

Leave a Reply

